+3dB Records



Arnulf Johansen  •  oboe
Lars Hilde  •  clarinetts
Lars Lien  •  saxophones
Kari Solheim  •  trumpet
Thomas Kjekstad  •  guitar
Teodor Berg  •  percussion
Jon Helge Sætre  •  piano

The Oslo-based AFFINIS ensemble was established in 1990 and has since the very beginning maintained a policy of commissioning new works from Norwegian composers. Following their name (Affinis means "on the border" or "in border territory") they mix works by composers such as Mark Adderley, Lars Petter Hagen and Henrik Hellstenius with music by Tom Waits, Suzanne Vega or The Residents. The ensemble has toured extensively in Europe, produced music theatre and released several albums.

Affinis have over the course of their career cooperated with the composer Lene Grenager on a number of occasions. The pieces include Attitude (2004), Intermitent interplay (2005), Effect Without Cause (2006), Duped (2006), Fumblemumble (2007) and Redolence (2007). The cycle is composed as a whole, and examines the relationship between freedom and tension; improvisation and strict notation.

Grenager has also arranged a collection of Kurt Weill songs for Affinis where the surreal, jolly and sad cabaret songs of Weill get their counterpart in the improvisations of the ensemble. The Weill repertoire has brought Affinis together with prolific singers such as Lisa Dillan and Maja Ratkje.







post (AT) affinis (DOT) no